My Washington Bucket List

splash

Okay, so I’m sure most of you have seen the film called The Bucket List. If you have never heard of this, it’s a movie staring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman who play the roles of Edward and Carter–two sick guys that have little to nothing in common except for the fact that they share a hospital room and a terminal illness. Together, they decide to leave the hospital and attempt to accomplish all the things they wanted to before they die. A concept known as the Bucket List. While on their humorous and touching adventure, both men help each other through the emotional difficulties and struggles and in the end, find true happiness with life.

Okay, so I don’t have a terminal illness and I’m not BFF with Morgan Freeman but making a Bucket List seems like a relatively inspiring idea. I think that once my thoughts and aspirations have been physically noted, I’ll have more motivation to accomplish most of them.

I’ve lived in Washington for close to seven years and I feel as though I have barely skimmed the surface of doing and visiting all the amazing things, places and opportunities that this wonderful Evergreen State has to offer.  SO, with that being said. Here is my Washington State Bucket List.

1. Backpack through the Hoh Rainforest

5058018767_429398fd7d_b

I wouldn’t say I’m an intense hiker by any means. But I thrive in the sunshine and I feel at peace when I’m outside. Every year when the weather starts to get a little nicer (and being from WA, that only gives me a small window of opportunity), I try my hardest to make my way onto the trails to appreciate all that Mother Nature has to offer. I haven’t, however, taken the leap to overnight backpacking trips. The Hoh Rainforest has been on my list for quite some time and I think it would provide me with excellent experience to further advance the outdoors man in me. The trail in this particular moist habitat  that I’ve had my eyes on the most is this Glacier Meadows trail, which as you can see from above is approximately 17 miles round trip. To scope out the details of this luscious rainforest on the web, go to http://www.nps.gov/olym/planyourvisit/visiting-the-hoh.htm.

2. Climb to the summit of Mt. St. Helens

photo1_large

Anytime I mention to someone I want to summit St. Helens, responses are almost always identical and are almost always followed with a “What? Are you crazy?” Um, no, I just want to do something awesome.  This would be the most challenging hike I have done, but I think that it’s totally doable. Not to intentionally try and make it super easy, but I would most likely attempt to master this behemoth sometime in the early Fall–most likely in September–when the majority of the snow is melted and all you come face to face with is massive mounds of rocks. I say this because it requires less equipment to be purchased on my part. This particular event is approximately 8 miles round trip, with a 4500 ft elevation gain, totaling 8300 ft at the top. While not the longest excursion I’ve ever done, it would certainly be the most aggressive in terms of elevation gain per foot.  But when you get to the top, I think little can be compared to the overall experience and view. Let’s go to the top of the World–er, the top of an active volcano. Visit http://www.wta.org/go-hiking/hikes/mount-saint-helens to begin your ascent.

3. Cama State Park

Cama Beach standard cabin exterior

Ever since reading this 2010 article in Sunset magazine about Cama Beach State Park, I have been in love with the idea of a weekend retreat in one of their cabins on the beach. The combination of the location and style of the cabins seems romantic, artistic, and even a little vintage. I picture myself exploring the trails during the day, camera in hand, trying to capture the simple essence and beauty that would be surrounding me. It’s been three years since I read the article and I’ve yet to make the final plunge into actually going to the cabins, but hopefully I can make this a family adventure and haul along my husband and daughter for a fun adventure by the water. For reservation or cabin inquiries, please visit http://www.parks.wa.gov/camabeach/.

4. La Push Beach

Screen-Shot-2013-09-01-at-10.34.07-AM

I didn’t really know about these cabins until recently when a close friend of mine divulged that this is where she intended to get married next summer. After googling the cabins and doing my own research, I found them to be an ideal location for a quiet escape from the daily grind of things. Not only is La Push a gorgeous, scenic beach, but the cabins that sit on the shorelines are totally romantic and affordable. I’ve heard through the rumor mill that these cabins are great for watching the storms that come in off the coast. For more on the cabins, please visit http://www.quileuteoceanside.com/.

5. Stay a weekend at Tree House Point

Treehouse-Point-5

If anyone has seen the Animal Planet series Treehouse Masters, then you might be interested to know of this secret little gem tucked away in the woods of Washington. Just 30 minutes from Seattle, Tree House Point is exactly what the name discloses: a treehouse hotel. Created and maintained by the same cast of Treehouse Masters, this resort features five treehouses which you can reserve a stay in. Whether it’s for a romantic getaway, a much-needed solitary vacation, or a small quiet wedding celebration, Treehouse Point can give you exactly what you need. The downside (or plus-side depending on how you look at things) to this wooded wonderland: no kids allowed.  Also, heads up, be prepared to spend a pretty penny for your stay, but c’mon, this lumber lodging look pretty incredible. To book your reservation, visit http://www.treehousepoint.com/

6. Go to a Thunderbirds hockey game

60

Okay, so this may not be for everyone. Especially if you’re not a fan of aggressive sportsmanship, ice skating, cold indoor sports arenas, and awesome, fast-paced, action-packed, athletic events. I guess after living in Quebec for two years and becoming so acclimated to this sport, I’ve been dying to go back to a game. Get ready for a pure shot of adrenaline and high blood pressure because hockey games are, to me, by far the most exhilarating to watch, loads of fun, and I think it’s time to hint to my husband that this would be an excellent date idea! For ticket prices and schedule, visit http://www.seattlethunderbirds.com.

Leave a comment